Literature Prize

The Cercle Royal Gaulois, Artistique et Littéraire’s biennial prize for biography, worth 4,000 euros, was established in the year 2000. It is awarded every other year in autumn.

It goes to the author – Belgian or resident in Belgium for at least five years – of a biography written in French. Collective works or those translated from another language are not eligible.

The work must have been published during the two years prior to the award of the prize (in the case of the 2014 prize, between April 2012 and March 2014).

Since its inception, the “Gaulois de la biographie” has been awarded to authors Michèle Goslar, Françoise Mallet-Joris, Benoît Peeters, Vincent Dujardin, Fernand Colleye, Raymond Trousson andPhilippe Paquet.

Further information can be obtained from the Cercle Secretariat.